
Discussion threads are best used for organizing knowledge and ongoing discussions of topics. For current updates and quick communications, consider using the Feed, which holds a running set of posts in chronological order.
Use Discussions

Create a Discussion
Only Community Managers can create a new “Discussion” topic for a Group or Project. You can create a Discussion in your own personal profile and add “Connections” to join your Discussion, but it will only be visible to the connections you invited- not on a group or project level.1
Navigate to the project or group and select Discussion
2
Click the ‘Add new’ button and fill in the fields.
Add tags for the thread to be searchable by purpose, skills and knowledge._Consider what tags will make this thread most discoverable for other members. _
3
Click ‘Create’ when you are finished to post the discussion
When you create the Discussion, Discussion participants will receive an email notification and platform notification when a new discussion topic is created.
Manage Discussions
The creator of a group or project as well as managers are able to:- Post new discussion threads and edit the discussions they create
- Moderate threads (including deleting comments) for discussions they created.
FAQ
Can I create a discussion from my personal profile?
Can I create a discussion from my personal profile?
Yes, you can create a discussion from your personal profile, and invite your Connections, or members of Groups or Projects you manage, to view or participate. The default visibility for a discussion thread published from a personal profile is set to Connections.
Who can see my content?
Who can see my content?
Visibility depends on the privacy settings configured for each item. Depending on the type of content and its settings, it may be visible only to you, your organization, members of a specific Group or Project, your connections, or the public. Many platform components—including Groups, Projects, Resources, Files, and Dashboards, as well as individual posts and discussion threads—can be configured with different visibility settings to support a wide range of collaboration models. Learn more about privacy settings here.
Can I make some content public while keeping everything else private?
Can I make some content public while keeping everything else private?
Yes. Privacy settings are managed independently for many platform components, allowing organizations to selectively publish Posts, Discussions, Resources, Dashboards, Files, or other content with select groups, projects, or connections. Users can also independently manage who can see, interact with, or discover each individual project or group space. Platform spaces, such as projects or groups, may even be made visible to members or the public, while select content published within that space, such as individual posts or discussions, may be kept private or shared with a smaller subset. For example, you may make a group publicly visible, or visible to members, while configuring a specific post or event within that space to be private or only shared with select profiles. You may also publish a resource as public or shared with a specific group, while requiring membership to a particular group or subset to view particular files that are attached to that resource. Or, you may publicly share a link to a project profile, but make a dashboard in that project only visible to project collaborators. Learn more about privacy settings here.
If I add an attachment to a discussion, post, or task, who can see it?
If I add an attachment to a discussion, post, or task, who can see it?