Skip to main content
Filehero
The platform’s file management system lets you store and share files across your projects, groups, and organizational profile. Files serves as a central repository for all documents, images, and media uploaded to or shared within a specific area of the platform, such as a project, group, or profile. Files appear here after being attached to other objects, such as tasks, feed posts, or discussion threads. Users can see what has been shared across a collective space, ensuring that everyone with the proper permissions has access to the necessary documentation

Working with Files

Attaching Files: You can attach files to other objects, such as tasks, feed posts, or discussion threads. Within these objects, you can upload a new file or select from existing. Look for the attachment icon.
Attachment
To Upload a New File You can upload a new file directly for later use through the Files of your own profile. Navigate to your individual profile’s File tab and select the “Add” button to upload a new file. _Note: The Files element in shared spaces, such as projects and groups are view only and show the files that have been uploaded for that space. _ Managing Files Next to the file name and type, select the gear icon to manage the file - download, preview, edit, privacy edits, or delete. Retroactive Privacy Changes Because a single file can be shared across multiple groups or posts, your individual profile’s Files is the place to retroactively change privacy settings or delete a file globally.

File Privacy and Visibility 

File visibility is determined by granular privacy settings.
  • Inherited Permissions: Files often inherit the permissions of their “container.” For example, if you upload an image to a post shared with a specific group, members of that group will see that image in their Files.
  • Fine-Tuning: Users can set files to Public (anyone with the link), Private (only the owner/organization), Connections, or Custom (specific individuals or groups).
Learn more about Privacy & Visibility →

FAQ

An attachment is used when adding a particular file (which can include an image, video, PDF, spreadsheet, or saved link) to a context, such as a discussion thread, post, dashboard, task, resource, or form. The attachment modal may be used to upload a new file for the first time, or to select an existing file to attach to that context. When a new attachment is uploaded, it is also added to your own profile’s files collection, as well as to those of any groups or projects it has been shared with. The default privacy settings of new attachments will generally adhere to the settings of the context they have been attached to (such as a post, task, or discussion thread.) If you do not see your attachment where you have added it, be sure to check file-level privacy settings, and if the file has been attached to a resource, be sure to make sure the resource has been published.
A File is any document or media uploaded to the platform, often as part of another activity such as a discussion, task, or post. A Resource is a curated piece of content that has been intentionally published to be discovered, shared, and reused. Resources include additional metadata that make them easier to organize, search, and showcase across the platform. If you’re simply attaching supporting material to an activity, uploading a File is usually appropriate. If you’re creating something you expect others to reference over time—such as a guide, toolkit, report, or template—we recommend publishing it as a Resource.
Visibility depends on the privacy settings configured for each item. Depending on the type of content and its settings, it may be visible only to you, your organization, members of a specific Group or Project, your connections, or the public. Many platform components—including Groups, Projects, Resources, Files, and Dashboards, as well as individual posts and discussion threads—can be configured with different visibility settings to support a wide range of collaboration models. Learn more about Privacy & Visibility.
Files typically inherit the privacy permissions of their “container,” such as the post or task they were attached to. To retroactively change a file’s privacy, you must go to the “Files” tab on your individual profile. In the “Settings” of the file, view the “Files & Permissions” tab to view the current permissions and make edits. Learn more about Privacy & Visibility.
Yes. Privacy settings are managed independently for many platform components, allowing organizations to selectively publish Posts, Discussions, Resources, Dashboards, Files, or other content with select groups, projects, or connections. Users can also independently manage who can see, interact with, or discover each individual project or group space. Platform spaces, such as projects or groups, may even be made visible to members or the public, while select content published within that space, such as individual posts or discussions, may be kept private or shared with a smaller subset. For example, you may make a group publicly visible, or visible to members, while configuring a specific post or event within that space to be private or only shared with select profiles. You may also publish a resource as public or shared with a specific group, while requiring membership to a particular group or subset to view particular files that are attached to that resource. Or, you may publicly share a link to a project profile, but make a dashboard in that project only visible to project collaborators. Learn more about Privacy & Visibility.
In most cases, newly attached Files inherit the permissions of the item they are attached to. For example, a File attached to a private discussion will generally only be visible to people who have access to that discussion. File permissions can also be reviewed and updated through the Files interface when needed. They can also be managed individually. Learn more about Privacy & Visibility.